Chudleigh Town Council
Chudleigh Town Hall, Market Way, Chudleigh, Devon TQ13 0HL
Email: / Telephone: 01626 853 140
Opening Hours: Monday - Friday 9:00 - 15:00

Chudleigh Citizen's Award

This award was introduced by the Town Council in 2012 as a way of recognising and saying thank you to those people who have contributed to the community of Chudleigh. It is presented by the Mayor at the Annual Town Meeting which, this year, was held on 22 May. In 2012, the inaugural award was presented to Alan Brunton in recognition of his work with the Amenity Society and History Group, as well as his work in opening the Heritage and Information Centre. In 2013 the award was presented to Sue Metcalfe in recognition of her work with the youth centre and Chudleigh Community Project. Last year the award was jointly given to Joan Prowse and Jillian Wood in recognition of their work over 20 years in organising coffee mornings to raise funds for St John Ambulance

This year there were eleven nominations for the award – Darren le Marquand, Roger Brandon, Doug Hellier Laing, Stewart Sapp, Tony Woodville, Maurice Wickstead, Donna Cook, Joyce Underwood, Alan Holman, Annie Holman and Mike Moyse. All of the nominations were of high merit and the adjudicating panel found it difficult to select an overall winner. However, they finally decided that the award should be presented jointly to Stewart Sapp and Mike Moyse. Stewart was being recognised for the work he has done over the last four years to make the vision of having a new play park, MUGA and pagoda at Fore Street Park a reality. It is not hyperbole to say that he has played a key role in transforming the facilities for young people in the town. Mike Moyse is recognised for his work in setting up a team of volunteers to tackle environmental issues around the town and also for his work as the Council’s Footpaths Officer. It should not be forgotten that he played a key role in bringing together the residents with properties bordering the leat and forming a Leat Volunteers Group. The other nominees received a letter of appreciation and a signed certificate, recognising their achievements.

The Mayor, Richard Keeling, presented Stewart and Mike with their awards and also the perpetual shield. The latter remains on permanent display in the Town Hall.